Go back

Helga-Maria Schmid nominated as Chair of the Board of the European Institute of Peace


Helga-Maria Schmid has been nominated by the Institute’s Board of Governors as its fourth President. She will serve a renewable two year term from January 2024, succeeding Annika Söder. Previous Board Presidents were Staffan de Mistura (2014-16) and Pekka Haavisto (2016-19).

“Helga’s commitment to conflict prevention and resolution and her vast diplomatic experience are enormous assets to the Board and to the Institute at a time of mounting geopolitical challenges and more armed conflict” said Michael Keating, the Institute’s Executive Director.

Helga-Maria Schmid’s career has included senior positions in the German Foreign Ministry and the European External Action Service, where she served as Secretary General (2016-2020). She is currently Secretary-General of the OSCE.

The European Institute of Peace is an independent body based in Brussels. It is active in more than a dozen countries supporting initiatives designed to prevent and resolve armed conflict and reduce levels of violence. As Chair, Helga-Maria Schmid will support the Board of Governors in its role to provide oversight, guidance and support to the senior management of Institute in an honorary capacity.