Go back


Helga-Maria Schmid was nominated by the Institute’s Board of Governors as its fourth President. She will serve a renewable two year term from January 2024, succeeding Annika Söder. Previous Board Presidents were Staffan de Mistura (2014-16) and Pekka Haavisto (2016-19).

Helga-Maria Schmid’s career has included senior positions in the German Foreign Ministry and the European External Action Service, where she served as Secretary General (2016-2020). She is currently Secretary-General of the OSCE.

As Chair, Helga-Maria Schmid will support the Board of Governors in its role to provide oversight, guidance and support to the senior management of Institute in an honorary capacity.